Torn Bits & Pieces

Torn Bits & Pieces by Deborah O'Toole a collection of poetry which includes Black Eyes, Blood of My Father, Bluebells & Fuchsia, Collective Obsessions (poetic rendering based on the fictional saga of the same name by Deidre Dalton), Color Me Woe, Confusion & Mr. Barrett, Dark Blue Moon, Drama, Edward, Fringes, Gentle Creatures, Heart in Dusk, I Will Never Marry, In the Town in the Time, Intoxication, J.D., Mind Control, Moonstruck Madness, My Name is Called Disturbance, Religion, Sad Passing, Screech & Moan, Siembamba, Silver Lining, Striking with a Spirit's Knife, The Rot in the Wood, The Spell, Year of Blood, You're Just a Boy and many more.

Heart in Dusk

Dormant now, for a decade or less.

My full heart waited in the pearly dusk,

to reach out for a long, slow caress.

Before my soul turns to dust.

Steadfast and true, are you.

Never deserved by me,

not even when we were new.

In your mind, I wish I could see.

Years of languish, deep and alone.

To take my place beside you,

from now to the end, I will atone.

For your love and forgiveness, and hatred, too.

Beating in the pearly dusk.

Waiting, hoping and humble.

So much more than whimsical lust,

as I walk toward you and stumble.

Dusky heart for you, Katie dear,

my pure and mindful seer.

All my thoughts are clear,

never again any fear.



*Note: The poem "Heart in Dusk" also appears in the fiction novel Bloodlust, which is the second book in the Bloodline Trilogy by Deborah O'Toole writing as Deidre Dalton.



Heart in Dusk ©Deborah O'Toole. All rights reserved.

TORN BITS & PIECES ©Deborah O'Toole. All rights reserved.

Poems and other content in "Torn Bits & Pieces" may not be reproduced in whole or in part without written permission from the author. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead in prose is purely coincidental.