Book One: The Advent


Forbidden love and dark secrets haunt two Irish families hacking out a new life in 19th-century America. When Molly Larkin's father discovers her affair with lighthouse keeper Colm Sullivan, his reaction pitches her into madness. Yet the legacy forges a bond of blood that will endure for generations.


The Collective Obsessions Saga begins with The Advent, when John Larkin emigrates from Ireland to America in 1865 and settles a self-named township in Maine. John soon builds a wealthy empire and grand estate, becoming one of the richest men on the Eastern Seaboard.


Hiding behind the wealth and social position are quirky English servants, the effervescent family chef Claude Mondoux, John's alcoholic wife Anne, their steadfast son Roderick and their mercurial daughter Mary Margaret, also affectionately known as Molly.


In The Advent, Molly falls in love with lighthouse keeper Colm Sullivan, bringing shame and tragedy upon her family.


Although cloaked in secrecy and madness, the love affair establishes a connection between their families that will endure for generations.


Click here to read excerpts from The Advent (PDF).

Click here to read reviews about The Advent.

Now available in paperback from Amazon >


Next: Quixotic Crossings >




The Advent by Deidre Dalton is available from:


Back to top of page BACK TO TOP OF PAGE



"The Advent" by Deidre Dalton


ISBN: 978-1-534880-76-4

Series: Collective Obsessions, Book One

Released: June 26, 2016

Cover Art: Webs Divine





Collective Obsessions Saga @ Facebook


The Advent @ Pinterest


"The Advent" book cover history



©2024 Deidre Dalton. All Rights Reserved. Webmaster: Webs Divine.